Spin Away!

Over this past summer, I took my very first spinning class! To tell you the truth, I never felt more exhausted in my life. Before that class I was exercising moderately and as a result, I was unprepared for the dramatic cardio change. However, when I began to grow accustomed to the work out I found spinning to be very enjoyable. I also had shin splints (pain in the shins – the front lower legs), so this exercise became a great alternative to running.

Did you know that a spinning workout of 45 minutes may allow you to burn around 500 calories? The amount of calories you burn will depend on the intensity of the workout. I usually try to get at least 45 minutes on the machine.

Below are some benefits of spinning:

  1. Increase cardio endurance
  2. Improve cardiovascular health
  3. Builds muscle
  4. Low Impact

 To help you get started, try this spin routine:

  1. Warm-up (4 mins)
  2. Add resistance and stand. Lean forward 20 seconds and back for 20 seconds (6 mins)
  3. Add resistance and pick up speed. Go faster at each 0, 15, 30 second marks and then recover at the 45 second mark. Repeat (4 mins)
  4. Speed intervals – 30 seconds on and 30 seconds off (5 mins)
  5. Seated hill climb (3:30 mins)
  6. Add resistance, standing sprints 15 seconds up, 15 seconds down (4:20 mins)
  7. Moderate resistance, seated, fast speed (4 mins)
  8. Add resistance, stand, moderately fast (3 mins)
  9. Heavy resistance, stand (4:30 mins)
  10. Lower resistance and sprint to the end (2 mins)

-cool down-

Now I encourage you all to try this workout and burn burn burn those calories away!

Leave a comment