Audio Track

The last time I ever created an audio track was for my marketing class in High School. For that particular assignment I had to create a commercial and even then I remembered I was frustrated and confused. It took a lot of effort but I managed to finish my commercial. I had hope I would be able to naturally recall what I learned four years ago and transfer it into this project.

My first step was to figure out what software to use. Unfortunately, I was quickly aware that I did not remember a single thing from my marketing assignment. I am completely and utterly out of my element. What do I do when I need answers? I go straight to Google! That search led me to “Free Audio Editor.” I proceeded to download the file with caution and find some YouTube videos I could convert to MP3. The songs that I chose was “2NE1 – I Don’t Care (Instrumental)” and “Park Bom – Don’t Cry (Instrumental).” From there, it was time to figure out how Free Audio Editor actually works. I began playing around and tried to overlap the music. The most challenging part was figuring out where to cut/paste the music in order to make the smoothest transition. That took a bit of trial and error but I eventually completed the task!  Next, I added my introduction and I assumed I was all set. However to my disappoint when I played the audio track, I realized the background music was too loud. This was the part where I face palmed and realized the magical tool that is the fade in/fade out effect. I used this tool in the middle and end of my audio track. Within a few more tries, my audio file was complete and I was ready to export it onto my blog.

I recalled the Professor provided the class with a useful tip to use Dropbox. I created an account, upload the file, and copied the link. It’s a great application to use and I certainly see that I can also use it outside of class!

Overall, this assignment was definitely more difficult than Pixlr. I don’t see myself creating an Audio Track in the future or my professional career, but it was a great learning experience.

5 thoughts on “Audio Track

  1. You did a really great job with your podcast! The dialogue you added to the music really helps me understand what your blog is all about. The only negative thing that I would say is that it took me forever to load the podcast on the player you chose. However, I’m not quite sure if it is the player that is glitchy or my computer… Great job!

  2. I also had the same problems as you! I had trouble fading the songs into one another, and I also had trouble finding when to do so at the right moment. Your preview track was great; the background music fits very well, especially the part where you’re talking. Keep up the good work!

  3. I think deciding where to cut and paste the music was also a challenging part of this assignment. I enjoyed the 2 tracks you chose and where you ended the music.

  4. I really like the short podcast you put together. The music was upbeat and worked well with your dialogue. Good job with the clarity and overall production.

Leave a comment