Screencasting

This was my first time creating a screencast video review. I thought the whole process behind it was fairly simple. However like any software I download from the internet, I was hesitant because I worry about viruses and Trojans. Despite my worry, I couldn’t find an alternative solution so I downloaded Jing and began to record my video. What I found difficult about this project was timing. The issue with the site that I chose was that the hyperlinks were taking me forever to download. My solution for this problem was to click the link 3-4 seconds before I wanted to go on that page. It was a bit of a hassle, because it took me a few tries to record and get it right. I ended up rerecording my video for about 20 minutes, but I worked around it as best as I can. Although I wished there wasn’t so much lag in this video, I am still happy with my results. After I made my video, I embedded it onto my WordPress blog. All I did was copy the link from Dropbox and pasted it on here!

I’m not sure when I will ever have the need to create a screencast video. I think a screen capture will be of more use to me. I know for my internship when I had to make a PowerPoint to teach someone how to use a program or fix an issue, the screenshot became an invaluable tool. Screencast would definitely be of use in an online class. I think it’s great to use for recording PowerPoint presentations. I personally believe screencast is great for creating tutorials; sometimes words are not enough. Using a visual accompanied with writings can be an effective method for teaching someone how to use a program or even how to solve a math problem!

On the whole, this assignment was interesting. I do hope to be able to use this program in the future.

Checkout my screencast! 

8 thoughts on “Screencasting

  1. This was really incredible! I now love that blog as much as you do. You really brought your passion for food and that blog forward in your review. You covered the bases you were suppose to, and it came out really nice! I am happy I follow you and was able to view this.

  2. You did a great job with your screen cast! The website you chose compliments your blog well. Your voice is also very clear and I like the points that you spoke about. Nice work 🙂

  3. I always worry about things like viruses as well! I thought it was interesting that you had issues with timing, because I think you did a great job! For this kind of project though it seems like you would be the one in charge of the timing, so I’m not sure what part of it wasn’t working! Overall great job!

  4. You did a great job on your screencast. Your blog choice goes well with your individual blog. You were also very clear and sounded interested in what you were talking about. Well done!

Leave a comment