Screencasting

This was my first time creating a screencast video review. I thought the whole process behind it was fairly simple. However like any software I download from the internet, I was hesitant because I worry about viruses and Trojans. Despite my worry, I couldn’t find an alternative solution so I downloaded Jing and began to record my video. What I found difficult about this project was timing. The issue with the site that I chose was that the hyperlinks were taking me forever to download. My solution for this problem was to click the link 3-4 seconds before I wanted to go on that page. It was a bit of a hassle, because it took me a few tries to record and get it right. I ended up rerecording my video for about 20 minutes, but I worked around it as best as I can. Although I wished there wasn’t so much lag in this video, I am still happy with my results. After I made my video, I embedded it onto my WordPress blog. All I did was copy the link from Dropbox and pasted it on here!

I’m not sure when I will ever have the need to create a screencast video. I think a screen capture will be of more use to me. I know for my internship when I had to make a PowerPoint to teach someone how to use a program or fix an issue, the screenshot became an invaluable tool. Screencast would definitely be of use in an online class. I think it’s great to use for recording PowerPoint presentations. I personally believe screencast is great for creating tutorials; sometimes words are not enough. Using a visual accompanied with writings can be an effective method for teaching someone how to use a program or even how to solve a math problem!

On the whole, this assignment was interesting. I do hope to be able to use this program in the future.

Checkout my screencast!